Three Symphonies for Organ Solo — Anthony Newman

The organ 'symphony' originates with Cesar Franck, in his Grand Piece Symphonique and continues in the 6 symphonies of Louis Vierne and the 9 of Charles Marie Widor. These works are always brilliant, demanding, and commanding. My own are written with these French antecedents in mind. The first is in three movements, featuring a slow movement 'in memoriam' to Jean Langlais, celebrated organist of St. Clotilde in Paris, with a fiery set of variations on the 'Battle Hymn of the Republic.' The second was premiered at Grace Cathedral in San Francisco, in the mid 1990s, and is dedicated to Stephan Tharp. The 3rd is very recent, and taken from my opera 'Nicole and the Trial of the Century.' Various arias are transcribed into this short organ symphony.

Symphony #1

  1. allegro deciso 6:29
  2. largo mesto 6:46
  3. variations on the Battle Hymn of the Republic 9:33

Symphony #2

  1. vivace 5:59
  2. adagio-presto-adagio 5:59
  3. toccata 6:36

Symphony #3

  1. giocoso 3:25
  2. totentanz 3:15
  3. largo 3:27
  4. toccata 3:08
  1. Toccata and Fugue in B 8:30
  2. Fantasia on Stravinsky's Oedipus Rex 9:25

Total time 73:14